CORPORATION OF THE TOWN OF AMHERSTBURG

BY-LAW NO. 2022-019

By-law to appoint a Clerk and Deputy Clerks for the Corporation of the Town of Amherstburg

WHEREAS Section 228(1) of the Municipal Act, S.O. 2001, c. 25, as amended, requires Council to appoint a Clerk to perform the duties therein set out;

AND WHEREAS Sections 228(2) of the Municipal Act, S.O. 2001, c. 25, as amended, states that a municipality may also appoint deputy clerks;

NOW THEREFORE the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Amherstburg hereby enacts as follows:

- 1. Valerie Critchley is hereby appointed to be the Clerk of the Corporation of the Town of Amherstburg and shall continue at the pleasure of Council until resignation, retirement, or removal from office.
- 2. As Clerk, Valerie Critchley shall perform all of the duties of a Clerk as set out in Section 228(1) of The Municipal Act, S.O. 2001, c. 25, as amended and other such duties as assigned by the municipality.
- 3. In the event of absence, through illness or otherwise of the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk, shall be the acting Clerk and shall have the powers and perform the duties of the Clerk.
- 4. Tammy Fowkes and Kevin Fox are hereby appointed Deputy Clerks of the Corporation of the Town of Amherstburg and shall continue at the pleasure of Council until resignation, retirement, or removal from office.
- 5. Bill Tetler is hereby appointed as Deputy Clerk of the Corporation of the Town of Amherstburg for the purpose of carrying out the daily job responsibilities of the Manager of Licensing and Enforcement.
- 6. By-law 2021-064 is hereby repealed in its entirety.
- 7. This by-law shall come into force and take effect on the date of final passing thereof.

Read three times and finally passed this 14th day of February, 2022.

MÁYOR – Aldo DiCarlo

CLERK – Valerie Critchley)