THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWN OF AMHERSTBURG

BY-LAW NO 2024-005

By-law to appoint members to a Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee

WHEREAS the *Ministry of Tourism and Recreation Act*, 1990, as amended, and its Regulation 797 provides that the Council of a municipality may, by by-law, establish a parks and recreation advisory committee to advise and assist Council on all matters relating to recreation programming, recreation programming for children and parks management;

AND WHEREAS the Council of the Town of Amherstburg deems it advisable to establish such a committee and to provide for the appointment of members thereto;

NOW THEREFORE, the Council of the Town of Amherstburg enacts as follows:

- 1. That the following individuals are hereby appointed to the Amherstburg Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee for the Town of Amherstburg until the end of the 2022-2026 Council term or until their successors are appointed:
 - Brinton Sharman
 - Leya Foster
 - Tony Pietrangelo
 - Shirley Curson-Prue
 - Wes Ewer
- 2. That the Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee shall have a minimum of two (2) member representatives from its appointing body.
- 3. That the Council of the Town of Amherstburg may, by resolution, replace members as vacancies arise, or appoint from time to time such new members as it considers desirable.
- 4. That all prior By-laws to appoint members to a Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee be hereby repealed.
- 5. That this by-law shall come into force and take effect upon on the date of the third and final reading thereof.

READ a first, second and third time and finally passed this 12th day of February, 2024.

Mayor - Michael Prue

Clerk – Kevin Fox