THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWN OF AMHERSTBURG BY-LAW NO. 2016-71

By-law to Appoint Drainage Superintendent/Tile Drain Inspector for the Corporation of Town of Amherstburg

WHEREAS Section 227 of the Municipal Act, 2001 provides for officers and employees of the municipality to implement and carry out council's decisions, to establish administrative practices and procedures, to provide advice to council on municipal policies and programs, and to carry out duties required by legislation;

AND WHEREAS Section 11 of the Municipal Act, 2001 S.R. c25 gives municipalities general spheres of jurisdiction including the area of drainage;

AND WHEREAS Section 93 of the Drainage Act, RSO 1990 authorizes the Council of a local municipality to appoint a drainage superintendent and provide for his remuneration for the purposes in the manner set out therein;

AND WHEREAS Section 4 of the Tile Drainage Act, R.S.O. 1990, c.d.8 provides that Council may appoint a tile drain inspector;

AND WHEREAS the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Amherstburg deems it expedient to approve the appointments of Drainage Superintendent and Tile Drain Inspector;

NOW THEREFORE the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Amherstburg hereby enacts as follows:

- 1. That **Shane McVitty** is hereby appointed as Drainage Superintendent and Tile Drain Inspector for the Town of Amherstburg effective June 6, 2016.
- The Drainage Superintendent and Tile Drain Inspector appointed hereunder shall receive such remuneration as shall be mutually agreed upon by themselves and Council and shall hold office until such time as they resign or their employment is terminated.
- 3. The Drainage Superintendent/Tile Drain Inspector shall carry out the duties imposed upon them pursuant to the Drainage Act, and the Tile Drainage Act, R.S.O. 1990 and shall submit reports and carry out such other duties as may be required of them by Council from time to time.
- 4. Bylaw 2010-117 is hereby repealed.
- 5. This by-law shall come into force on the passing thereof.

Read a first and second time and finally passed this 11th day of July, 2016.

MAYOR - Aldo DiCarlo

CLERK - Paula Parker