## THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWN OF AMHERSTBURG

## **BY-LAW NO. 2014-99**

By-law to authorize the establishment of the Town of Amherstburg Election Compliance Audit Committee

WHEREAS, Section 81.1(1) of the *Municipal Elections Act*, 1996 as amended (the *Act*), states that a Council or local board shall, before October 1 of an election year, establish a committee for the purposes of Section 81 of the *Act*;

**AND WHEREAS**, Section 81.1(4) of the *Municipal Elections Act*, 1996 as amended, states that the Clerk of the municipality or the secretary of the local board, as the case may be, shall establish administrative practices and procedures for the committee and shall carry out any other duties required under this *Act* to implement the committee's decisions;

**AND WHEREAS**, the Council of the Town of Amherstburg deems it advisable to establish an Election Compliance Audit Committee and to set out the Terms of Reference of the Committee.

**NOW THEREFORE** be it resolved that the Council of the Town of Amherstburg hereby enacts as follows:

 That the following persons be appointed to the Town of Amherstburg Election Compliance Audit Committee for the term of Council commencing December 1, 2014 to November 30, 2018:

> Joe Gorski Robin Hall Chris Gibb

- That the Town of Amherstburg Election Compliance Audit Committee carry out its mandate and duties in accordance with the Rules of Procedure as established by the Clerk.
- This By-law comes into full force and effect upon the final passage thereof.

Read three times and finally passed this 22nd day of September, 2014.

Mayor - Wayne Hurst

Clerk Paula Parker