CORPORATION OF THE TOWN OF AMHERSTBURG

BY-LAW NO. 2014-74

By-law to appoint a Clerk and Deputy Clerks for the Corporation of the Town of Amherstburg

WHEREAS Section 228(1) of the Municipal Act, S.O. 2001, c. 25, as amended, requires Council to appoint a Clerk to perform the duties therein set out;

AND WHEREAS Sections 228(2) of the Municipal Act, S.O. 2001, c. 25, as amended, states that a municipality may also appoint deputy clerks;

NOW THEREFORE the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Amherstburg hereby enacts as follows:

- Paula Parker is hereby appointed to be the Municipal Clerk of the Corporation of the Town of Amherstburg; her title shall be Manager of Municipal Governance.
- 2. As Municipal Clerk and/or Manager of Municipal Governance, Paula Parker shall perform all of the duties of a Clerk as set out in Section 228(1) of The Municipal Act, S.O. 2001, c. 25, as amended and other such duties as assigned by the municipality.
- The term of office of Paula Parker as Clerk shall commence July 14, 2014 and shall continue during the pleasure of Council until her resignation, retirement, or removal from office.
- 4. In the event of absence, through illness or otherwise of the Clerk, the Deputy Clerk, shall be the acting Clerk and shall have the powers and perform the duties of the Clerk.
- 5. Nicole Rubli, Tammy Fowkes and Jerry Marion are hereby appointed to Deputy Clerks of the Corporation of the Town of Amherstburg.
- 6. Jerry Marion's appointment expires upon completion of his contract term as Elections Coordinator and his appointment is primarily for the purpose of election related materials as delegated by the Clerk.
- 7. By-law 2009-51 is hereby repealed.
- 8. By-law 2011-98 and 2014-44 are hereby repealed.
- 9. This by-law shall come into force and take effect on the date of final passing thereof.

Read three times and finally passed this 14th day of July 2014.

MAYOR - Wayne Hurst

CLERK - Paula Parker